Executive Director Julie Meer Harnick


Julie has worked in the nonprofit field for 29 years and has a background in budgeting and auditing. Her dedication to the People of Port is evidenced by previous years of service at the Parent Resource Center, Teen Center and the Ed. Foundation. She is inspired to help others in need since experiencing an accident at a young age that left her blind in one eye. 

Firmly committed to helping others through education, engagement and aide, Julie is the co-founder of PORT Non-profit that promotes collaboration among the many nonprofit organizations in Port. She is also President of the local League of Women Voters and was recently elected to the Town of North Hempstead Women’s Roll of Honor. 

Julie is a proud Brooklyn native and a graduate of Williams College. She has a Master’s in Accounting from New York University. In her spare time, she can be found cooking, quilting antiquing or hiking in the Adirondack mountains. Always leading with her heart, Julie believes that she will continue to use her skills to devote her life to the service of others.  


President                       Drew Hershkowitz



Drew Hershkowitz and his wife Suzanne have lived in Port Washington since 2001.  They have three daughters currently at Weber and Schreiber.  Drew has been a technology professional in the financial industry for 25 years, working primarily with hedge funds and investment banks.  While leading teams large and small to deliver mission-critical technology platforms, Drew applies a practical and commercial mindset and takes a results-oriented approach.  Drew holds a degree in Computer Science from Penn State University and has been a board member with the Community Chest since 2013.



2017-2018 Executive Committee

Mitchell Schiultz, Vice President

Bill Stocker, Treasurer

Nancy Hay Nevins, Secretary

Neil Lazar, Past President

Michael Cooperman, Budget & Allocation Co-Chair



Nancy V. Cowles, Building Chair

Michele Hyde, Nominating & Board Development Chair

Myles Nachamie, Budget & Allocation Co-Chair

Karen Seltzer, Nominating & Board Development Committee Co-Chair



2017-2018 Board of Directors

Anne Garofalo-Allen

Kris Baker

Amy Bass

Karen Corteselli

Mary DeNisco

Jerome Federlein

Hector Garcia

Minerva Garcia

Noal Goldfarb


Lisa Hendrickson-deBruin

Jane Hone

Stuart Johnson

Tessa Jordan

Rebecca Keen

John Neil

Roy Nelson, M.D.

Bob O'Brien

Lou Pasternak, M.D.


Evelyn Strauss

Jean O. Vogeley

Wilda Whittemore

Jennifer Wilson-Pines

Joel Ziev, Ed.D.





Event Coordinator

Jeanne Rizzo